Which version for my users: office 2016 or office 2019?

Office 2016 vs Office 2019

Microsoft has released different versions of the Office suite. To give you an objective comparison and help you choose between office 2016 or office 2019 that will equip your employees' workstations, it is interesting to study the technological and functional differences between the perpetual license versions (on premise) 2016 and 2019. The analysis of the technical requirements of the versions will also guide your choice according to the hardware upgrades that you may have to consider depending on whether you are going to take office 2016 or office 2019. 

 

Brief history of office 2016 and office 2019

 

Office 2016 is the oldest version; it was released from 2015 with a standard support end date of 2020. Office 2019 is the newest version; it was released from 2018 with a standard support end date of October 2023. These two on-premise versions mark a turning point in the history of the Microsoft office suite. The 2016 version, optimized for Windows 10, offers a new experience with a more accomplished collaborative dimension. It offers the ability to collaborate online with document co-editing, real-time document sharing with OneDrive, and accessibility of shared documents from any environment and any device, desktop or laptop, mobile (smartphone and tablet) and via a web client... The Office 2019 version also has extended features and a rich portfolio of applications. It is remarkable because it is announced as the last perpetual version of Microsoft's office suite.

 

What applications are available in office 2016 and office 2019

 

Office 2016

 

Depending on the edition (only the Standard, Professional and Professional Plus versions are considered), Office 2016, which is available for download, includes basic applications such as Word (word processor), Excel (spreadsheet), PowerPoint (presentation software), OneNote (digital notepad), and specific applications such as Outlook (email client), Publisher (desktop publishing software), Access (relational database) and Teams (collaborative communication software deployed in SaaS mode). Real-time document sharing and collaborative work is possible thanks to the online storage space in the cloud with the OneDrive application. The deployment of office 2016 can be enriched with the related applications SharePoint 2016 (collaborative platform), Project 2016 (project management software) and Visio 2016 (diagramming software), etc. 

 

Among the highlights of office 2016 are the implementation of autosave routines that improve application performance and limit system errors, universal image and video compatibility, and intelligent search and help tools.

 

Office 2019

 

The office 2019 license (only supported on Windows 10 and 11) comes in Standard, Professional, Professional Education and Professional Plus editions. This approach only considers business versions. It is available as a download, for easy deployment to users in your organization. The main innovation of this office 2019 version is the Click-to-Run installation feature that replaces the usual Windows Installer.

 

This Office 2019 version includes the same portfolio of applications as office 2016, i.e. Word, Excel, PowerPoint, OneNote, Outlook, Publisher, Access and Skype Enterprise (Teams). You can similarly complement the office suite with the SharePoint 2019, Project 2019 and Visio 2019 applications. In each of these applications, new features are deployed, including real-time collaborative work, text-to-speech, new charts for Excel. Despite the proximity to Microsoft 365, this 2019 version does not benefit from all the functional innovations that are implemented on the on demand version of Office 365.   

 

Technical requirements for office 2016 or office 2019

 

The choice between office 2016 or office 2019 is primarily dictated by a functional requirement, but it is also necessary to consider the hardware component of your computer park. You will be able to evaluate the cost or the benefits according to whether you are going to integrate office 2016 or office 2019.

 

The prerequisites for the installation of the office 2016 license in 32 or 64 bits are for Windows an x86 or x64 bits processor, clocked at 1 GHz, 2 GB of RAM and 3 GB of hard disk space. In terms of environment, the office suite can be installed on a PC equipped with windows 7, 8, 10. For Apple, you need an Intel processor, 4 GB of RAM and 6 GB of hard disk space.  

 

The prerequisites to run office 2019 are for Windows a processor clocked at 1.6 GHz 2 cores, 4 GB of RAM and 4 GB of hard drive space. For Apple, you need an Intel processor, 4 GB of RAM and 10 GB of hard disk space.   

 

In view of the proximity of the two versions and the technical requirements, the choice between the office 2016 or office 2019 must lean in the majority of the cases towards office 2016. This version will save you money on used licenses and extend the life of your IT equipment.

On the same subjects...

Quelle version pour mes utilisateurs : office 2016 ou office 2019 ?

Office 2016 vs Office 2019

Microsoft a mis sur le marché différentes versions de la suite bureautique Office. Pour vous donner des éléments de comparaison objectifs et vous aider à faire votre choix entre office 2016 ou office 2019 qui équiperont les postes de vos collaborateurs, il est intéressant d’étudier les différences technologiques et fonctionnelles entre les versions en licence perpétuelle (on premise) 2016 et 2019. L’analyse des prérequis techniques des versions orientera également votre choix en fonction des upgrades matériels que vous devrez peut-être envisager selon que vous allez prendre office 2016 ou office 2019. 

 

Bref historique des versions office 2016 et office 2019

 

La suite bureautique office 2016 est la version la plus ancienne, commercialisée à partir de 2015 avec une date de fin de support standard prévue en 2020. Office 2019 est la version la plus récente ; elle a été commercialisée à partir de 2018 avec une date de fin de support standard prévue pour octobre 2023. Ces deux versions on premise marquent un tournant dans l’histoire de la suite bureautique Microsoft. La version 2016, optimisée pour Windows 10, propose une expérience nouvelle avec une dimension collaborative plus aboutie. Elle offre la possibilité de collaborer en ligne avec la coédition de documents, le partage de documents en temps réel avec OneDrive, et l’accessibilité des documents partagés depuis n’importe quel environnement et n’importe quel terminal, ordinateur fixe ou portable, mobile (smartphone et tablette) et via un client web… La version Office 2019 compte aussi des fonctionnalités étendues et un riche portefeuille d’applications. Elle est remarquable car elle est annoncée comme la dernière version perpétuelle de la suite bureautique de Microsoft.

 

Quelles sont les applications disponibles dans les versions office 2016 et office 2019

 

Office 2016

 

Suivant les éditions (on ne considère que les versions Standard, Professionnel et Professionnel Plus), office 2016, accessible en téléchargement, regroupe les applications de base comme Word (traitement de texte), Excel (tableur, feuille de calcul), PowerPoint (logiciel de présentation), OneNote (bloc-notes numérique), et des applications spécifiques comme Outlook (client de messagerie), Publisher (logiciel de PAO), Access (base de données relationnelle) et Teams (logiciel de communication collaborative déployé en mode SaaS). Le partage en temps réel de documents et le travail collaboratif sont possibles grâce à l’espace de stockage en ligne sur le cloud avec l’application OneDrive. Le déploiement d’office 2016 peut être enrichi avec les applications connexes SharePoint 2016 (plateforme collaborative), Project 2016 (logiciel de gestion de projets) et Visio 2016 (logiciel de diagrammes), etc. 

 

Parmi les points forts d’office 2016, il faut noter la mise en place de routines d’enregistrement automatique qui améliorent la performance des applications et limitent les erreurs système, la compatibilité universelle des images et des vidéos, et outils d’aide et de recherche intelligents.

 

Office 2019

 

La licence office 2019 (uniquement prise en charge par Windows 10 et 11) est déclinée en édition Standard, Professionnel, Professionnel Éducation et Professionnel Plus. Cette approche ne considère que les versions business. Elle est disponible en téléchargement, pour un déploiement simplifié auprès des utilisateurs de votre organisation. La principale innovation de cette version office 2019 réside dans la fonction d’installation Click-to-Run qui remplace l’habituel Windows Installer.

 

Cette version Office 2019 inclut le même portefeuille d’applications que office 2016, c’est-à-dire Word, Excel, PowerPoint, OneNote, Outlook, Publisher, Access et Skype Entreprise (Teams). Vous pouvez compléter de la même manière la suite bureautique avec les applications SharePoint 2019, Project 2019 et Visio 2019. Dans chacune de ces applications, des fonctionnalités nouvelles sont déployées, notamment sur le travail collaboratif en temps réel, la synthèse vocale, de nouveaux graphiques pour Excel. Malgré la proximité avec Microsoft 365, cette version 2019 ne bénéficie pas de toutes les innovations fonctionnelles qui sont implémentées sur la version on demand office 365.   

 

Les prérequis techniques des versions office 2016 ou office 2019

 

Le choix entre office 2016 ou office 2019 est d’abord dicté par une exigence fonctionnelle, mais il faut aussi considérer la composante hardware de votre parc informatique. Vous pourrez ainsi évaluer le coût ou les bénéfices réalisés suivant que vous allez intégrer office 2016 ou office 2019.

 

Les prérequis pour l’installation de la licence office 2016 en 32 ou 64 bits sont pour Windows un processeur x86 ou x64 bits, cadencé à 1 GHz, 2 Go de RAM et 3 Go d’espace disque dur. En termes d’environnement, la suite bureautique peut être installée sur un PC équipé de windows 7, 8, 10. Pour Apple, il faut un processeur Intel, 4 Go de RAM et 6 Go d’espace disque dur.  

 

Les prérequis pour exploiter office 2019 sont pour Windows un processeur cadencé à 1,6 GHz 2 cœurs, 4 Go de RAM et 4 Go d’espace disque dur. Pour Apple, il faut un processeur Intel, 4 Go de RAM et 10 Go d’espace disque dur.   

 

Au regard de la proximité des deux versions et des prérequis techniques exigés, le choix entre la version office 2016 ou office 2019 doit pencher dans la majorité des cas vers office 2016. Cette version vous permettra de faire des économies sur les licences d’occasion et de prolonger la vie de vos équipements informatiques.

Sur les mêmes sujets…