Used software license in CAPEX mode

CAPEX vs OPEX

The differences between CAPEX and OPEX

CAPEX and OPEX are two concepts linked to the way in which the expenses incurred by the company will be included in its accounting and financial balance sheet. OPEX (Operating Expenses) corresponds to operating expenses. CAPEX (Capital Expenditure) corresponds to investment expenditure. These two terms, CAPEX and OPEX, refer to different categories of expenditure depending on their use and management rules.
H2: Difference between operating and capital expenditure (OPEX/CAPEX)
Operating expenses (OPEX) or running expenses are the current expenses of the company to ensure the functioning of the services. These expenses concern the purchase of goods and raw materials, the purchase of administrative supplies, rentals, subcontracting, social security charges, maintenance, repairs, leasing fees, etc. These expenses appear as expenses in the company's income statement. As a result, they do not impact the company's debt capacity and are deductible from taxable income.

Unlike operating expenses, capital expenditures (CAPEX) correspond to the acquisition of a durable good. It can be a tangible investment such as real estate, production tools, computer equipment ... It can also be an intangible investment such as patents, business goodwill, licenses. Finally it can be a financial investment with the purchase of shares, bonds... These investment expenses ensure the development of the company in the short and medium term. From an accounting point of view, they increase the value of its assets.

The software license, OPEX or CAPEX?

The evolution of technologies means that the question is not clear-cut. The development of the cloud and the availability of a large number of applications in SaaS mode to companies are changing the situation. These new technologies allow companies to allocate their expenses differently depending on their technology choices and their financial and accounting strategy. In this context, your software license is a capital expenditure (CAPEX) and can benefit from depreciation rules if :
The amount of the investment is greater than or equal to 500 €.
The application is installed locally on your company's servers and client stations (on-premise mode).
The data is hosted on your infrastructure.

On the other hand, if the licenses are in SaaS mode (Software as a Service, based on cloud technology), it is then an operating expense (OPEX) financed in rental mode.

Used software license is a capital expense

A professional software licence acquired on the secondary market is a capital expenditure (CAPEX). European legislation provides a legal framework for transactions carried out on the secondary market for software licences. It prohibits the resale of leased licences and SaaS-type subscriptions, which would then be an operating expense (OPEX). These licences are not eligible because the rights of use are limited in time and linked to the payment of a subscription. Licences in SaaS mode include a right of access to the publisher's servers which is not transferable.

Investing sustainably with Softcorner pre-owned licenses

As Europe's leading provider of pre-owned B2B software licenses, Softcorner enables you to implement innovative, cost-effective and efficient management of your software assets. By integrating the secondary market, you will be able to acquire used software licenses that are legally compliant and complete (executables, license keys, documentation). They will also allow you to equip your collaborators at a lower cost (up to 80 % discount depending on the licenses).

Softcorner also offers you the possibility to sell your unused software following a reduction in the number of users, the migration of your applications or technological changes. Uninstalling licenses frees up resources and optimizes your infrastructure. The secondary market gives you greater flexibility and security, allowing you to adapt your software portfolio while keeping your capital expenditure under control (CAPEX).

On the same subjects...

La licence logicielle d’occasion en mode CAPEX

CAPEX vs OPEX

Les différences entre CAPEX et OPEX

CAPEX et OPEX sont deux notions liées à la manière dont les dépenses réalisées par l’entreprise vont intégrer son bilan comptable et financier. L’OPEX (Operating Expenses) correspond aux dépenses d’exploitation. Le CAPEX (Capital Expenditure) correspond, lui, aux dépenses d’investissement. Ces deux appellations, CAPEX et OPEX concernent des catégories de dépenses différentes en fonction de leur emploi et de leurs règles de gestion.
H2 : Différence entre dépenses d’exploitation et dépenses d’investissement (OPEX/CAPEX)
Les dépenses d’exploitation (OPEX) ou dépenses de fonctionnement sont les dépenses courantes de l’entreprise pour assurer le fonctionnement des services. Ces dépenses concernent les achats de marchandises et de matières premières, l’achat de fournitures administratives, les locations, la sous-traitance, les charges sociales, l’entretien, les réparations, les redevances de crédit-bail… Ces dépenses apparaissent en tant que charges dans le compte de résultat de l’entreprise. De ce fait, elles n’impactent pas sa capacité d’endettement et sont déductibles du résultat fiscal.

Contrairement aux dépenses d’exploitation, les dépenses d’investissement (CAPEX) correspondent à l’acquisition d’un bien durable. Il peut s’agir d’un investissement corporel comme l’immobilier, les outils de production, le matériel informatique… Il peut s’agir aussi d’un investissement incorporel comme des brevets, un fonds de commerce, des licences. Enfin cela peut être un investissement financier avec l’achat d’actions, d’obligations… Ces dépenses d’investissement assurent le développement de l’entreprise sur le court et le moyen terme. D’un point de vue comptable, elles enrichissent la valeur de son patrimoine (actifs de l’entreprise).

La licence logicielle, OPEX ou CAPEX ?

L’évolution des technologies fait que la question n’est pas tranchée. Le développement du cloud et la mise à disposition d’un grand nombre d’applications en mode SaaS auprès des entreprises modifient la donne. Ces nouvelles technologies permettent aux entreprises de ventiler différemment leurs dépenses en fonction de leurs choix technologiques et de leur stratégie financière et comptable. Dans ce contexte, votre licence logicielle est une dépense d’investissement (CAPEX) et pourra bénéficier des règles d’amortissement si :
Le montant de l’investissement est supérieur ou égal à 500 €.
L’application est installée en local sur les serveurs et les postes clients de votre entreprise (mode on-premise).
Les données sont hébergées sur vos infrastructures.

Par contre, si les licences sont en mode SaaS (Software as a Service, basée sur la technologie cloud), il s’agit alors d’une dépense d’exploitation (OPEX) financée en mode locatif.

La licence logicielle d’occasion est une dépense d’investissement

La licence logicielle professionnelle acquise sur le marché secondaire est une dépense d’investissement (CAPEX). La législation européenne encadre juridiquement les transactions effectuées sur le marché secondaire de la licence logicielle. Elle interdit la revente de licences en location et les abonnements de type SaaS qui seraient alors une dépense d’exploitation (OPEX). Ces licences ne sont pas éligibles car les droits d’usage sont limités dans le temps et liés au paiement d’un abonnement. Les licences en mode SaaS intègrent, elles, un droit d’accès aux serveurs de l’éditeur qui n’est pas transférable.

Investir durablement avec les licences d’occasion Softcorner

Leader européen de la vente de licences logicielles B2B d’occasion, Softcorner vous permet de mettre en place une gestion de votre parc logiciel innovante, économique et performante. En intégrant le marché secondaire, vous pourrez acquérir des licences logicielles d’occasion conformes à la législation et complètes (exécutables, clés de licence, documentations). Elles vous permettront aussi d’équiper vos collaborateurs moins cher (jusqu’à 80 % de réduction suivant les licences).

Softcorner vous offre également la possibilité de vendre vos logiciels inutilisés suite à une réduction du nombre d’utilisateurs, à la migration de vos applicatifs ou à des changements technologiques. La désinstallation des licences vous permet de libérer des ressources et d’optimiser votre infrastructure. Le marché secondaire vous apporte une plus grande flexibilité et sécurité, en vous permettant d’adapter votre parc logiciel tout en maîtrisant vos dépenses d’investissement (CAPEX).

Sur les mêmes sujets…