Elée, a French pioneer in Software Asset Management (SAM)

Data center

Pioneer of Software Asset Management (SAM) in France, Elée is an independent consultancy specialising in software licence and cloud spend management. According to the ITIL (Information Technology Infrastructure Library), Software Asset Management consists in federating a set of skills, processes and tools in order to manage, control and secure a company's software license portfolio. The firm Elée has developed real expertise in this field of activity, a know-how that was recognized in 2020 by Gartner in the 1er Magic Quadrant for Software Asset Managed Services.

The firm Elée is to provide advice to information systems departments (ISD) and purchasing departments to enable them to :

  • Understand and control the risks of non-compliance.
  • Reduce recurring IT costs and capital expenditures.
  • Better negotiate with extremely well organized and ambitious suppliers such as Microsoft, Oracle, SAP or Amazon.
  • Build processes and deploy tools to manage and control usage and expenses.
  • Reducing the environmental footprint of IT and putting digital technology at the service of the ecological transition.

For more information, visit the company's website: www.elee.fr

Software Asset Management (SAM)

Software Asset Management (SAM) is a recent activity within companies. It arrived in France in 2012, when the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) authorized the sale of second-hand software licenses. This was a coincidence, as there were other factors at the time that motivated the implementation of optimized management of companies' application assets. But it is certain that the organization of a secondary software license market was an important lever in the strategy of optimizing the management of corporate software assets.

 

 

The primary objectives of Software Asset Management are to optimize costs and control the portfolio and risks. Its secondary objectives are to improve data management, control the information system, and implement an effective Vendor Management strategy to take control of the relationship with publishers. 

Software licences, an asset like no other

The firm Elée has perfectly integrated the specificity of the software license in the different phases of its software portfolio optimization missions. It is a complex asset that combines technical (it is a program), legal (it is subject to copyright management, usage rights, etc.), commercial (there are different marketing methods and media) and accounting (the application is an asset, whereas maintenance is an expense) dimensions. These specificities require the implementation of a very specific method and process to be integrated into the budgetary and technological optimization and valorization approach of Asset Management.

 

Thus, after having defined precise objectives with its client, the firm Elée conducts an exhaustive software inventory within the organization covering the technical aspects, with a detailed collection of data on software licenses installed locally, in server centers, and on the licenses used. For each of these inventories, Elée maps the associated hardware configurations (location, characteristics, capacity, acquisition date, etc.). Following this technical inventory, Elée lists the rights attached to each software license present in the company and the active maintenance. Finally, the firm of experts Elée studies projects in order to anticipate the installation and uninstallation phases of licenses.

Frugality and circular economy

It is only from this complete inventory of your organization's software assets and the analysis of the data obtained thatElée continues its Asset Management mission. It deploys tools for monitoring and managing software-related data (usage, functionalities, etc.) covering the entire organization, and trains the various players in the company. The implementation of this organization and process allows you to enhance the value of your software asset portfolio, to optimize the use of licenses by users, to decommission software licenses and to sell them on the secondary second-hand market via our Softcorner platform. The proceeds from these sales allow you to finance new technology projects (security, mobility, system availability, storage, etc.) and to purchase any missing licenses in your inventory in order to eliminate publisher compliance risks.

On the same subjects...

Elée, un pionnier français du Software Asset Management (SAM)

Data center

Pionnier du Software Asset Management (SAM) en France, Elée est un cabinet de conseil indépendant, spécialisé dans la gestion des licences logicielles et des dépenses cloud. Selon l’ITIL (Information Technology Infrastructure Library), un référentiel méthodologique anglais, le Software Asset Management consiste à fédérer un ensemble de compétences, de processus et d’outils afin de gérer, de contrôler et de sécuriser le portefeuille de licences logicielles d’une entreprise. Le cabinet Elée a développé une réelle expertise dans ce domaine d’activité, un savoir-faire qui a été reconnu en 2020 par Gartner dans le 1er Magic Quadrant « Software Asset Managed Services ».

Le cabinet Elée se donne pour mission d’apporter des conseils aux directions des systèmes d’information (DSI) et aux directions des achats pour leur permettre de :

  • Comprendre et maîtriser les risques de non-conformité.
  • Réduire les coûts informatiques récurrents et les dépenses d’investissement.
  • Mieux négocier face à des fournisseurs extrêmement bien organisés et très ambitieux comme Microsoft, Oracle, SAP ou Amazon.
  • Construire des processus et déployer des outils de pilotage et de contrôle des usages et des dépenses.
  • Réduire l’empreinte environnementale de l’IT et mettre le numérique au service de la transition écologique.

Pour plus d’informations, visitez le site de l’entreprise : www.elee.fr

Le Software Asset Management (SAM)

Le Software Asset Management (SAM) est une activité récente au sein des entreprises. Il est arrivé en France en 2012, année où la Cour de justice de l’Union européenne (CJUE) a autorisé la vente de licences logicielles d’occasion. Il s’agissait là d’une coïncidence, car d’autres facteurs ont motivé à l’époque la mise en place d’une gestion optimisée du parc applicatif des entreprises. Mais il est certain que l’organisation d’un marché secondaire de la licence logicielle a été un levier important dans la stratégie d’optimisation de la gestion des actifs logiciels des entreprises.

 

 

Les objectifs prioritaires du Software Asset Management sont l’optimisation des coûts, la maîtrise du portefeuille et des risques. Ses objectifs secondaires sont d’améliorer la gestion des données, la maîtrise du système d’information, et de mettre en place une stratégie performante de Vendor Management pour prendre la main sur la relation avec les éditeurs. 

La licence logicielle, un actif pas comme les autres

Le cabinet Elée a parfaitement intégré la spécificité de la licence logicielle dans les différentes phases de ses missions d’optimisation de portefeuille logiciel. Il s’agit en effet d’un actif complexe qui combine à la fois une dimension technique (c’est un programme), juridique (il est soumis à la gestion des droits d’auteur, d’usage…), commerciale (il existe différents modes de commercialisation et supports) et comptable (l’application est un actif, alors que la maintenance est une charge). Ces spécificités nécessitent la mise en place d’une méthode et d’un process bien spécifiques pour être intégrées dans la démarche d’optimisation et de valorisation budgétaire et technologique de l’Asset Management.

 

Ainsi, après avoir défini des objectifs précis avec son client, le cabinet Elée procède à un inventaire logiciel exhaustif au sein de l’organisation portant sur les aspects techniques, avec un recueil détaillé des données relatives aux licences logicielles installées en local, en centre serveur, et sur les licences utilisées. Pour chacun de ces inventaires, Elée effectue une cartographie des configurations hardware associées (localisation, caractéristiques, capacité, date d’acquisition…). À la suite de cet inventaire technique, Elée répertorie les droits attachés à chaque licence logicielle présente dans l’entreprise et les maintenances actives. Enfin, le cabinet d’experts Elée étudie les projets afin d’anticiper les phases d’installation et de désinstallation des licences.

Frugalité et économie circulaire

Ce n’est qu’à partir de cet inventaire complet des actifs logiciels de votre organisation et de l’analyse des données obtenues qu’Elée poursuit sa mission d’Asset Management. Il déploie des outils de monitoring et de gestion de données relatives aux logiciels (utilisation, fonctionnalités…) couvrant l’ensemble de l’organisation, et forme différents acteurs de l’entreprise. La mise en place de cette organisation et de ce processus permet de valoriser votre portefeuille d’actifs logiciels, d’optimiser l’usage des licences auprès des utilisateurs, de décommissionner les licences logicielles et de les vendre sur le marché secondaire de l’occasion via notre plateforme Softcorner. Le fruit de ces ventes vous permet de financer de nouveaux projets technologiques (sécurité, mobilité, disponibilité des systèmes, stockage…) et d’acheter le cas échéant les licences manquantes dans votre inventaire afin de supprimer les risques de conformité éditeur.

Sur les mêmes sujets…